Supreme Court sacks APC federal lawmaker

The Supreme Court has sacked an All Progressives Congress (APC) House of Representatives member representing Yola South/Yola North/Girei federal constituency of Adamawa state, Mustapha Usman.

A five-man panel of the court, in a unanimous judgment Tuesday, upheld an appeal marked: SC/790/2019 from Abdulra’uf Abdulkadir Modibo also of the APC.

The apex court held that aside that Usman forged his credentials, he also did not participate in the National Youth Service Corps scheme.

The five-man panel of the court, led by Justice John Okoro, also ruled ‎that Modibo, who came second in the APC primary, should be issued certificate of return by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Assembly confirms NAN editor, 19 others as LG caretaker chairmen

The Bauchi state House of Assembly has screened and confirmed 20 persons nominated for appointment as Chairmen, Local Government Caretaker Committees.

The state governor, Senator Bala Muhammed, had forwarded the names of the 20 persons to the assembly through the Secretary to the State Government, Alhaji Sabiu Baba, last week, for screening and confirmation.

Among those confirmed was Mr Iliya Habila, an Assistant Editor-in-Chief of the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN).

The Speaker of the Assembly, Mr Abubakar Sulaiman, who confirmed the eligibility of the nominees to serve, after they were screened at business session, explained that confirming them became imperative to avoid a vacuum in the administration of the local governments.

“The nominees were found to be of good merit; the nominee for Shira Local Government, Maigari Khanna, traveled to Saudi Arabia to perform his Islamic right, but we found that he is popular and resolved to confirm him,” he said.

The nominees included Yusuf Garba, Alkaleri, Iliya Habila, Bogoro, Danlami Danbaba, Bauchi, Maigari Khanna, Shira, Samaila Dogonjaji, Jammare,  Kefas Magaji, Tafawa Balewa, Sale Dumba, Dass, Dayyabu Kariya, Ganjuwa and Nura DanMiasharia, Ningi.

Others are Adamu Salihu, Giade, Ahmed Itas Kirfi, Itas-Gadau, Bappah Abdu, Kirfi, Shehu Buba, Toro, Babayo Sanusi, Katagum, Yaro Gwaram, Misau, Amina Audu, Darazo, and Yahuza Zaki, Zaki local government.

Also confirmed are Adamu Lele, Gamawa, Ahmed Dambam, Dambam and Mohammed DanJummai, Warji local lovernment.

The Majority Leader of the House, Mr Bello Jadori, in a remark, called on the nominees to run open administrations that would listen to everyone in their respective areas. (NAN)

Matched content

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.