Tribunal sacks Osun PDP lawmakers, calls for rerun

The National and State Assembly Elections Petitions Tribunal sitting in Osogbo, the Osun state capital, Monday sacked a member of the House of Representatives for Ede federal constituency, Mr Bamidele Salam.

Salam, who is a member of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), was removed by the tribunal on the grounds of electoral malpractices.

It cancelled results from certain units in four local government areas in the constituency and ordered a rerun election in those areas.

Also, the tribunal also declared the state assembly election in Obokun state constituency inconclusive, removing Adewumi Adeyemi, a member of the PDP, who was earlier declared winner of the poll, ordering a rerun in four units where elections were cancelled.

Meanwhile, the tribunal upheld the election of Mulikat Abiola, a member of the All Progressives Congress (APC) representing Ifelodun federal constituency

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.