Updated: NRM gets assembly seat as INEC announces winner of Zamfara election…see list of the triumphant Politicians

Following the Supreme Court verdict on the Zamfara governorship, National Assembly and State Assembly elections, the Independent National Electoral  Commission (INEC) has re-complied with judgement, declaring the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as winner in the governorship, the National Assembly and the State House of Assembly seats.

However, INEC announced Kabiru Hashimu of the National Rescue Movement, (NRM) as winner of one of the State Assembly seats, Maru south Constituency. 

INEC chairman, Prof Mahmood Yakubu who announced the results in Abuja at the headquarters of the commission in Abuja warned political parties to always organise their primaries according to INEC’s timetable and schedule of activities. 

The Commission has therefore fixed Monday as a day for the presentation of certificates of return to the governor-elect, deputy governor-elect as well as Senator-elect and House of Reps members-elect would be presented with their certificates in Abuja.

For the House of Assembly members-elect, Yakubu said their certificates of return would issued by the Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC) for Zamfara State at the INEC State Office in Gusau on Friday 31stMay 2019 at 10.00am.

Both a Court of Appeal judgment and now a Supreme Court judgment determined that the APC did not conduct valid primaries for the 2019 elections in Zamfara state.

In its judgment delivered on 24thMay 2019, the Supreme Court, having determined that the APC did not conduct valid primaries, said that the votes cast for the party in all the elections in question were “wasted” and ordered the Commission to recognize the runners-up as the winners. 

This judgment affects the positions of Governor and Deputy-Governor, three Senatorial, seven Federal and twenty-four State Assembly Constituencies.

To the political parties, the INEC chairman warned: “I wish to seize this opportunity to draw the attention of all stakeholders, but particularly the political parties, to the implications of the Supreme Court judgment on the Zamfara matter. 

“It is clear that properly conducted party primaries are cardinal to the proper internal functioning of political parties, the electoral process and our democratic system at large. 

“Therefore, political parties must take very seriously the conduct of primaries according to all extant rules, including the monitoring of the processes by INEC to avoid a repeat of the Zamfara experience. 

“I want therefore to remind us that the Commission has since 9thApril 2019 issued the timetable and Schedule of Activities for the 2019 Bayelsa and Kogi Governorship elections by which party primaries are scheduled to hold between the 2nd and 29th August 2019. 

“I appeal to political parties intending to field candidates in the elections to adhere strictly to this and other timelines in the Timetable and Schedule of activities.”

*Bello Mohammed Matawalle – Governor-elect

* Mahdi Aliyu Gusau – Deputy Governor-elect


* Ya’u Sahabi – Zamfara North

* Mohammed Hassan – Zamfara Central

 * Lawali Hassan Anka – Zamfara West.


* Umar Sani Dan-Galadima – Kaura-Namoda/Birnin Magaji federal constituency

* Bello Hassan Shinkafi – Shinkafi/Zurmi federal constituency

* Kabiru Amadu – Gusau/Tsafe federal constituency

* Shehu Ahmed – Bungudu/Maru federal constituency

* Kabiru Yahaya – Anka/Talata Mafara federal constituency

* Ahmed Bakura – Bakura/Maradun federal constituency

* Sulaiman Abubakar Gum – Gummi/Bukkuyum federal constituency


* Zaharadeen M. Sada – Kaura Namoda North state constituency

* Anas Sarkin Fada – Kaura Namoda South constituency

* Nura Dahiru -Birnin Magaji state constituency

* Salihu Usman Zurmi – Zurmi East state constituency

* Nasiru Mu’azu – Zurmi West state constituency

* Muhammad G. Ahmad- Shinkafi state constituency

* Musa Bawa Musa – Tsafe East State constituency

* Aliyu Na-maigora – Tsafe West  state constituency

* Ibrahim Naida – Gusau East  state constituency

* Shafi’u Dama – Gusau West state constituency

* Kabiru Magaji – Bungudu East

*Nasiru Bello Lawal – Bungudu West

*Yusuf Alhassan Muhammad – Maru North

* Kabiru Hashimu – Maru South state constituency

 National Rescue Movement Party

Yusuf Muhammad – Anka state constituency

* Shamsudeen Hassan – Talata Mafara North

* Aminu Yusuf Jangebe -Talata Mafara South state constituency

* Tukur Jekada Birnin Tudu – Bakura state constituency

* Faruk Musa Dosara – Maradun I state constituency

* Nasiru Atiku – Maradun II state constituency

* Abdulnasir Ibrahim – Gummi I state constituency

* Mansur Mohammed – Gummi II state constituency

* Ibrahim Mohammed Na’idda – Bukkuyum North

* Sani Dahiru – Bukkuyum South

Matched content

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.